Luzerne County Council


Luzerne County is seeking qualified candidates for the position of Luzerne County Council Member. The candidate selected for this position shall serve through January 06, 2020. The salary shall be prorated based on $8,000.00 per year.


As outlined in the Luzerne County Home Rule Charter Article II, Section 2.09.


All candidates must have the following qualifications:

1. The candidate must be over the age of eighteen (18);

2. The candidate must be a registered voter in Luzerne County;

3. The candidate must have been a resident of the County continuously for at least one year immediately preceding the date of this potential appointment;

4. The candidate must be a Republican and have been a Republican continuously from November 03, 2015 through the present;

5. The candidate cannot have been convicted of a Felony offense;

6. If selected, the candidate could not hold any other elective public office or public employment, serve as a member of any County authority, board, or commission except as may be specifically be provided for in the Luzerne County Charter or applicable law, be employed or compensated by any individual or business serving as a contractor to the County or any County authority, board or commission, or serve as a paid consultant for the County or any County authority board or commission;

7. As part of the application process, the candidate shall complete and submit a Statement of Financial Interests which will be a public document. Forms are available on the Pennsylvania State Ethics Commission website.

8. NOTICE - Luzerne County will be reviewing public information to verify eligibility.

All candidates who would like to be considered must provide a cover letter and resume to the Clerk of County Council either by e-mail to or by mail to:

Sharon Lawrence Clerk of County Council, 200 N. River Street Wilkes-Barre, PA 18711

All documents must be received by 4:30PM on Friday, August 02, 2019. All documents provided to the Clerk of County Council for consideration for this position shall become public record and may be disclosed to the public.


As per Luzerne County Home Rule Charter, the ability to fill this position is in the power of the Luzerne County Council. As part of the application process, all applicants must complete and submit a Statement of Financial Interests which will be a public document. As such, any and all discussions and/or interviews for this position shall be held at a publicized public meeting.

Interviews are expected to be held on Monday, August 05, 2019 and Tuesday, August 06, 2019 starting at 6:00PM each evening. Other days and times may be scheduled if needed. It is anticipated that the final vote for the appointment of this position will be at the regularly scheduled public Luzerne County Council meeting held on Tuesday, August 13, 2019. The selected individual must execute an Oath or Affirmation of Fidelity to the Luzerne County Charter, the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and the United States of America within five (5) days.

County Council Meetings

  • 6:01 p.m.
  • 2nd and 4th Tuesday of every month
  • 200 N River Street
    Wilkes-Barre, PA 18711

Go To 2019 Meeting Schedule (revised 6/12/19)

Meeting Agendas, Minutes and Audios

  • Meeting Agendas are available prior to the meetings. 
  • Meeting Audios are available following meetings.
  • Meeting Minutes are available upon Council approval.

Go To Meeting Agendas, Minutes and Audio

August 2019

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
28 29 30 31 01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
View More

Council Members

The Luzerne County Council consists of eleven elected officials.  The Council serves as the Legislative body of Luzerne County.

  1. Tim McGinley

    Tim McGinley


  1. Jane Walsh Waitkus

    Jane Walsh Waitkus


  1. Harry Haas

    Harry Haas

    Council Member

  1. Linda McClosky Houck

    Linda McClosky Houck

    Council Member

  1. Chris Perry

    Chris Perry

    Council Member

  1. Sheila Saidman

    Sheila Saidman, Esq.

    Council Member

  1. Robert Schnee

    Robert Schnee

    Council Member

  1. Stephen A. Urban

    Stephen A. Urban

    Council Member

  1. Matthew Vough

    Matthew Vough

    Council Member

  1. Patrick Bilbow

    Patrick Bilbow

    Council Member