1. Legal Division
  2. Law Enforcement Division

Service Area

Luzerne County covers 907 square miles, making it the largest county in northeast Pennsylvania and the ninth largest county in Pennsylvania as a whole. Within the County, there are seventy-six (76) municipalities with forty-eight (48) local law enforcement agencies and two (2) state police headquarters with one (1) state police substation located in Hazleton, Wyoming and Shickshinny to assist the local agencies in combating crime.

Specialized Units

The legal division consists of 25 Assistant District Attorneys (ADA) assigned to specialized units so the nearly 5,000 cases being prosecuted by the office are handled more expeditiously, but methodically. The units consist of (1) Special Victims, (2) Vice, (3) Major Crimes, (4) Juvenile, (5) Driving Under the Influence (DUI), (6) Homicide by Motor Vehicle and (7) Appeals.

Prosecutor Responsibilities

The prosecutors are responsible for reviewing investigations conducted by law enforcement agencies and determining whether there is sufficient evidence to file criminal charges or proceed with the charges already filed. 

The prosecutors assigned to specialized units are also assigned to respective regions throughout the County in order to build a good rapport with law enforcement who investigate the criminal activity.