Union Township

Home » Living in Luzerne County » Municipalities » Union Township

Union Township was formed in July 1813, of territory taken from the original township of Huntington. The township is divided up into four regions, Muhlenberg, Reyburn, Koonsville and Town Line. The Northwest Area High School is located in the Township. Union Township has five community churches. Recognized volunteer ambulance associations are, Sweet Valley, Hunlock Creek and Huntington Mills. Recognized volunteer fire associations are, Shickshinny, Sweet Valley, Hunlock Creek and Huntington Mills. Police protection is provided by the Pennsylvania State Police. The Township is mainly residential and agricultural. The Emergency Management Agency Coordinator is Mr. Art Johnson, who is responsible for updating lists of people who require special needs during an emergency.


Address Union Township
21 Municipal Road, Shickshinny, PA 18655
Phone 570-256-7600
Fax 570-256-9032
Website www.pacounties.org/union/cwp/browse.asp?a=3
E-mail uniontwp@ptd.net
Population 2,077
Square Miles 28
Name of Mayor N/A
Congressional District 11th
Legislative District 117th
Type of Government Township Board of Supervisors
School District Northwest Area
Phone: 570-542-4126
Public Library N/A
Range of Housing Costs N/A
Property Tax Rate 6 mills


Cable Blue Ridge Communications
Phone: 610-826-2551
Electric UGI Electric
Phone: 800-962-1212
Water N/A
Waste Removal N/A
Last Updated: 04/18/08 09:10:18
Luzerne County Seal